top of page
  • Writer's pictureCJ Inventor

Halkomelem language learning

In our local culture, the language is on the endangered list. So, I applied for and received a grant from the First People's Cultural Council in Brentwood Bay, BC Canada.


I received the okay to use a local story from the Snuneymuxw First Nations territory, and will be creating a 10 minute video to showcase it and our local language.


I chose Kitely as the venue for the 3D immersive animated video because I had learned how to create in 3D for 3 years previously, and Kitely is inexpensive. Well, actually, I started out with Second Life© (SL) but the educational requirement for cheap land was going to be a tangled mess to work out, so I went with this option that my mentor's daughter showed me.


I am pleased with the result. I was able to get into the program, get land, and start building within 10 minutes! This, after spending weeks waiting the 15 days to hear about where my land would be in SL, only to find out that even though they said "the educational ticket has been resolved", and finding out - in my spare time - that it wasn't, and I couldn't actually get the appropriate permissions anyways (I found out in a letter later).


In the end, this turned out wonderfully. I now have land (32 acres) and I am almost finished forming it (it started out as a flat earth), and now I can start on my builds. Well, I did start a longhouse, but have only placed them so far.


I am including a short video here to show you the basic land building techniques available in a 3D engine. This is a sample of the landforms I have created in my new world "Salishan".


https://vimeo.com/266028887








23 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

In the beginning

Last year my friend asked me to help out with language audio tweaking. Afterwards, I attended a few of her classes and saw previous works to help enhance the language training, and decided that help w

Making a 3D movie...

Well, I put some lovely flora around the site a bit more today. I had to turn off the pond scum because the script was bugging me; I kept seeing it in the corner of my eye as I was working. All of the

bottom of page