top of page
  • Writer's pictureCJ Inventor

In the beginning

Last year my friend asked me to help out with language audio tweaking. Afterwards, I attended a few of her classes and saw previous works to help enhance the language training, and decided that help was needed in film as well.

Another friend showed me a site where help could be attained through funding. The First People's Cultural Council was able to give me a grant to complete the film work. And so my story begins....

I had originally wanted to do the work through Second Life© (SL), a 3D engine program that allows people to have an avatar, and to create and play online. Circumstances changed, and now I am using Kitely, which is another 3D engine but opensource.

I chose 3D because of its immersive qualities, and with 50% of the local First Nations ranging in age 25 and under, I thought this was the perfect venue for learning more of our own Halkomelem language.

I spent 3 years in SL learning how to build, create, and make new connections worldwide. I didn't have a Premium account which gives you the option of owning land, but I did have access to 'Free Builder' groups which gave me an area to call my own and build upon (as long as I taught others how to do things as well). The lessons I learned in SL are easily transferred to other 3D sites, and going into Kitely, for me, was very easy.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Making a 3D movie...

Well, I put some lovely flora around the site a bit more today. I had to turn off the pond scum because the script was bugging me; I kept seeing it in the corner of my eye as I was working. All of the

Halkomelem language learning

In our local culture, the language is on the endangered list. So, I applied for and received a grant from the First People's Cultural Council in Brentwood Bay, BC Canada. I received the okay to use a

bottom of page